19/07/2019 : Avow Annual General Meeting

CountyDenbighshire (GB037)
Official Website

Denbighshire (GB037)
Tel 2019-07-19
Categoria Events
Avow Annual General Meeting

Annual General Meeting Friday 19th July 2019 starting at 10.00am prompt - registration from 9.30am The Annual General Meeting of AVOW will take place on Friday 19th July 2019 at 10.00 am (with registration and refreshments at 9.30am) at the Catrin Finch Centre, Glyndwr University, Wrexham.  Networking lunch to follow. The guest speaker is Jane Hutt AM - Welsh Government - Deputy Minister and Chief Whip Key interests and achievements Jane is an honorary fellow of UWIC and a member of UNISON. Personal history Jane Hutt spent part of her childhood in Uganda and Kenya, and was educated at the University of Kent, the London School of Economics and Bristol University. She has lived and worked in Wales since 1972. With Welsh-speaking grandparents originating from north Wales, Jane has a lifelong commitment to Wales and is a Welsh learner.

Professional background Jane became the first National Co-ordinator of Welsh Women’s Aid in 1978 and was a founder of South Glamorgan Women’s Workshop. She went on to become the first director of the Tenant Participation Advisory Service (TPAS Wales) and was subsequently director of Chwarae Teg (Fair Play). She is the author of 'Opening the Town Hall Door – an Introduction to Local Government' and 'Making Opportunities – a Guide for Women and Employers'. Political history Jane was an elected member of the former South Glamorgan County Council for 12 years. She was first elected to the Assembly in 1999. Between 1999 and 2005 she served as Minister for Health and Social Services in the Welsh Government. From 2005 to 2007, she was Minister for Assembly Business and Chief Whip.
In the first Cabinet of the Third Assembly she was appointed Minister for Budget and Assembly Business. In the coalition Cabinet announced on 19 July 2007 she became Minister for Children, Education, Lifelong Learning and Skills. In December 2009 she was appointed Minister for Business and Budget, subsequently Minister for Finance until 2016 when she was appointed Leader of the House and Chief Whip until November 2017 and then reappointed to government under First Minister Mark Drakeford as Deputy Minister and Chief whip. Closing date for registration is Wednesday 17th July 2019. Whilst we welcome anybody interested in AVOW's activities please note that only paid up members are permitted to vote at the AGM, if your organisation has not yet renewed its membership please contact Darren Tomkins on 01978 312556 with the appropriate membership fee prior to the meeting.

Home Page - Privacy Sitemap Copyright © 2019 EventsinUK.net